Blues for Two

Blues can carry a mixed bag of feelings for most swing dancers. On one side, blues is awesomely rhythm heavy. The movement heavily correlates with the swaying of your hips or the pulsing of your steps. While this pulsing remains prevalent in swing dancing, blues bases most of its moves on subtle pulsing. It’s also, you know, really sexy. There’s that. Balboa might take on an A-frame chest hold, but blues has something called the “close embrace” which is basically a very, very intimate hug. On the other hand? Well…there’s a lot of swaying and “tone” instead of tension. Lindy hoppers make use of tension, like an elastic band. Thus, swing is usually high intensity and high energy. Whereas blues can be arguably high intensity of passion, the movement is more subdued.Think less large and showy moves and more variations of swaying.

My friends and I attended a fun event last night at a downtown club for an evening of blues dancing. Through my limited experience with blues, I opted for the free hour-long beginner’s course. I did enjoy the dancing, but I don’t think blues is quite the right fit for me. If blues and lindy were desserts, blues would be a heavy, decadent chocolate ganache cake and lindy would be a sunny raspberry lemonade bar. Personally, I opt for peppy more than sexy. Perhaps if I really was crushing on one of the dancers, I would have enjoyed the close embrace more? Regardless, “it don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got that swing” for me at the moment.

Image

Much Love & Swing,

 

Sherry

One thought on “Blues for Two

  1. I think one of the most important things that we, as blues dancers tend to forget is that blues isn’t just a close embrace dance. There’s so much more you can do with it. While a basic in blues is close embrace, I’ve watched and participated in entire dances where the whole dance was in open and closed positions, never close embrace.

    That being said, I have had dances done in entirely close embrace. It just depends on the music and on what a dance couple is comfy with.

    Love your blog and your passion for Lindy.

Leave a Reply

