Midnight Revelations

So…I can’t sleep because I’m so excited about returning to the States for lindy hop. I have been watching Lindy Focus and Frankie Manning videos on repeat, not to mention several of the queens of the swing dance scene (Frieda & Sharon, I’m looking at you ladies).

The funny thing is, I spent the majority of this weekend convinced I was in love with someone. I wasn’t in love with someone. I was in love with lindy hop. Here I am, in the middle of a sweltering dorm in Budapest…daydreaming about swivels and dancing with Skye Humphries. What is wrong with me? I actually spent a good 10 minutes thanking God for all the amazing people I’ve met and events I’ve experienced through the insane bliss of swing dancing. This maniacal grin slowly spread across my face as I realized…I have been the happiest in possibly my entire life. I am blessed with a joy I can communicate through dance, by God who creatively expresses love through something as wonderful as lindy hop. Wow.

With that realization, that dance has slowly epitomized my joy…I realized that I was head over heels in love…with dance. Lindy hop to me means creativity, and in some ways, embodies the spirit of freedom. I have the freedom to love who I want, worship God and express that wholly through the medium of improvisation.

And here I am. Not love sick over a guy, for once. Not feeling broken, for once. I feel restored. I feel alive. God gave me 4000 heartbeats every hour, more so in a lindy hop social dance, and I’m most definitely alive. Why waste time on people who don’t care, who are wiling to trudge through the mud, when I can be dancing in the rain?

Call me crazy, call me obsessive or call me ridiculous…but I think lindy hop is one of God’s ways to communicate His unspeakable love for people. Because of this community, I no longer feel alone. I might still be weird…okay, yes I am still weird, but now I have people who understand my quirks and even encourage more quirkiness. Once and for all…I’m not looking to anyone to give me happiness. I’ve had it all along, in my happy feet.

Image

“You have turned for me my mourning into dancing: you have put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness;” Psalm 30:11

 

True ❤ & Lindy,

 

Sherry

2 thoughts on “Midnight Revelations

  1. The Lindbergh Girl says:

    This was so nice to read!! I love love love this dance–I’m a new dancer and it gives me so much joy and is a fun thing to look forward to at the end of the day.
    However, and I dropped this question at another swing blog but am curious to hear from someone else as well, my partner (most of the time anyway), who showed me the basics and introduced me to the dance, who I feel most comfortable with, is leaving for college.
    *can you hear the long drawn-out noooo in the distance?*
    I just don’t know if I’d feel right with another partner and am considering just taking a pass on continuing the following year.
    Has this ever happened to you/ any advice? Thanks and great blog!
    (Whenever you write love and Lindy I think of Charles Lindbergh haha)

    • Hi there, Amanda aka Lindbergh Girl!

      I would suggest sticking with the dance anyways. Most classes will rotate several times, so there’s really no need for a partner, even if you’ve been dancing with just one person for a long time. It’s actually better for improvement and making dancer friends if you ask different people to dance every time you venture out. It prevents you from having a “dance accent,” or a specific style of dancing adjusted for one person only.

      All Jack n Jill Competitions are between people who, usually, have never danced with each other before or who have not danced exclusively with one another. Thus, the most versatile dancers who can adjust themselves and tweak their movements to any partners usually come out on top.

      I really hope you keep dancing! It’s way more fun as you meet more people and have amazing dances. Even if you have only a so-so dance, you could meet your dancer best friend in the process. 🙂

      Cheers,
      S.

Leave a Reply

