(The Long Awaited) Frankie 100 Recap

Hey October, lookin’ good!

Now, for that Frankie 100 business I avoided for ages. Why did I wait so long to post this? Well, mostly to avoid a more emotional perspective I first had about the event. You can find it here, if you are so inclined.

On to the good shtuff now that all the broken toenail business is forgotten, shall we?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What can beat tons of live music and beautiful dancer faces? Nothing. We had an overflowing amount of this, around 4 days worth. Bands, bands and more bands. I can vouch that working the merchandise table, there were a TON of band promotions going on. EVERY single one sounded amazing and sent us hoppin’ for joy. Oh, the dancing. The endless, frenzied masses of dancing sent me straight to the moon. There is nothing quite like feeling the floorboards rattle to the rhythm underneath your feet. You have no choice but to jive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right, so nothing better than the live bands and endless amounts of dancing. How about actually standing where the Savoy once stood? Yep, I got to do that…not to mention, meet my longtime dance favorite Ryan Francois. AND I got to work with Sing! Crazy talk. Add some original Whitey’s Lindyhoppers and I’m in lindy hop heaven. AHHHH.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s it, right? Nothing else that exciting? Well, except maybe a dancer parade. That is pretty darn awesome. Through Harlem, you say? On behalf of Frankie Manning? Starting at the Savoy grounds? Yep, that’s heaven on a platter, for sure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add nail-biting competitions, dazzling performances and even a fashion show into the midst, and you get the spectacular extravaganza that was Frankie 100. What’s a few crushed toes in the midst? Adds characters, I say. 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, the view from the dance floors weren’t so bad either. I’d say Alivin Ailey’s dance studios are some of the most gorgeous I’ve ever been in.

Frankie 100 – fast floors, fast feet and fast friends.

What’s not to love?

Love & Lindy,

S.

Since I left such a heavy critique last time in my article, I wanted to just talk about the pure joy in this piece.

Leave a Reply

