A Break-Step.

Hello Lindy Friends,

Hello from all over, indeed. I just wanted to share some different news, perhaps not sad. I’m going to stick to some solo jazz for awhile. For a long time now, I haven’t really felt accepted in my own skin, for whatever reasons, perhaps just my own. It has really has nothing to do with the fantastic organizers and people here (which, by the way, if you’re in Asia, definitely dance!). I think I have spent so much of my time dancing for the “next big thing” (whatever that means), I have failed to take a look at my own dancing.

I have failed, in many ways, to find the joy that dancing once gave me. The honeymoon period is over, and I see all the jagged pieces that make up my dance. I want to improve. Rhythmically, musically, and mainly as a person. Where am I going as a person and as a dancer with grace, not just on the floor, but in the way that I behave?

I think I have a long way to go, but I’ll continue to stay connected to the swing world. I will still dance, with a focus on creating a better connection to the music. I’m not leaving, so no worries.

Just a break-step.

See you at the next phrase.

5, 6, 7, 8.

S.

Just my dancer feet in Tainan.

Just my dancer feet in Tainan.

Leave a Reply

